Skip to main content

Of Frustrations and Dreams

One day I found myself crying at work. Again. For the past 7 months, I've been such a crybaby - some even call it a weakness for which I dont really care, since I never thought about having excessively sensitive lacrimal ducts as a weakness.

But sometimes, one has time to think and reflect and as for me write my thoughts. That I was able to ask myself - why the tears?

Was I sad? not really. Most of the time I like what I do - being a doctor has always been my choice and now that I am here, I don't think it's sadness.

Was I tired? probably. And who wouldnt be? After more than 24 hours of work with very minimal sleep (if we are lucky) and the countless and never ending concerns that we need to attend to. Yes I was probably tired. But somewhere in that 6 months of letting my tear glands do an amazing job, I realized that crying when tired wont actually do me any good - it actually delays me from finishing and doing my job that I really try my best not to cry when I'm just tired.

Was I home sick? well yes. But i have been home sick since I was first year high school, that I dont think it's the issue.

Was I hormonal? Oh i'm always hormonal. :p

Kidding aside, as I recall most of the instances when I found myself crying in any quiet corner, i realize that it's not just fatigue, not just sadness or missing home or my hormones (go ahead, blame the hormones). Most of the time it's frustration.

True, sometimes I get frustrated with petty things which is probably when my OCD traits are hyped - something I usually can control. But on the other end of the spectrum are frustrations that I can't do anything about, yet.

Let me share my most recent incident of "frustration i cant really do anything about yet".

It involved me facilitating a transfer from a private institution to a government hospital.

It was a sad scenario. Appraising the family of what needs to be done, them deciding that they can no longer afford the continuation of healthcare in the private setting and eventually deciding to transfer to a government facility because of the financial constraints. Me endorsing the patient to the government hospital (which is entirely a different frustrating story). Hearing the receiving physicians' response from the government hospital of how there are no beds available at their wards, much less the ICU; how much their ER is congested - for which I can totally relate and understand as I have seen and worked at a government institution as well. Relaying this heavy news to the family and again appraising them of what to expect when they get transferred. And eventually the family still deciding to go because they dont really have a choice.

*deep sigh and silence*

Frustrating right?

But let's not end on a sad note. As frustrating as it may seem, I was glad. For in that experience I am reminded of my dreams for service and of what I was taught in medschool. Health is a right. It is not something to be given to those who can only afford it (which unfortunately has always been the reality I knew way before I started medical school. And sadly actually one of the reasons why I am training in a private institution - to get to learn how to manage patients by the book - because they can afford.)

That instance has reminded me of what is waiting for me outside the airconditioned halls. It has always been my fear that once I go private I would forget everything I learned for service. But that one instance has reminded me a lot of what I learned in PGH. And I am glad that my heart for service is still in here, and that my dreams for change are very much alive. And that yes I am still the doctor I hoped to be.

And that someday, when I am done learning as much as I can. I will have this to remind me of the kind of physician, the kind of person I aspire to be. To remind me of my frustrations on our challenging healthcare system and hopefully give my future self a nudge to actually do something about it.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

and things will start to change..

to start it all: my hair! haha. it's short now. like kindergarten short. haha. i like it. and i wanted to have my hair cut since summer, but because of grad pictorials, i need to postpone it. and grad pictorials are done - and i don't want to postpone it any longer. haha. so i had my hair cut yesterday afternoon after watching the Agnes of God play with my brother. (i have no decent pictures yet so you need to see me personally if you want to see it. i feel weird. i think it looks weird. haha.) and so everything follows. *** change is something inevitable. a natural phenomenon that would definitely happen in one way or another. we can't stop it (i think) but we can postpone it and i think i've postponed "that" inevitable change for too long now, and I have no other choice but to let it happen. i've already felt the urge to remove that something from my system at the start of the sem (as the change im talking about). well, i knew i need to deal wi...

The Preparation.

How do you put 100 days of preparation, 4 days of examination and 3 days of waiting in one blog entry? You can’t. Haha. So I’m making this a 3 part entry. That very long hiatus from writing and this heart full of emotions had led me craving to write my heart out. So indulge me. I don’t think I would be able to encapsulate all the emotions in that one of a kind journey which led me to where I am today. But I would still try because having that experience is something that I would love to look back to (definitely not do again) but something that I would like to read about when I feel like strolling down my memory lane. It started the day after the review center (Topnotch medical board prep) orientation where we were welcomed with a wake-up call, the board examination is about three months away - 106 days to be exact. Will it be enough? Probably. And then came the diagnostic exams where in there was really the doubt of whether it will be enough.  Parang hindi . But it was...

Page 2: lungs and the Pinas :)

today was our first day in our pulmonary module. well i was asleep half the first lecture, but i did well in listening in the afternoon session :) and then there was free time, which i gladly spent updating myself with the latest episodes of the vampire diaries and once upon a time :p which i'd gladly write something about as well sometime :p and another exciting thing today, i had a spur of the moment let's join the quiz bee with my friends! the quiz bee was all about stuff about the Philippines. it didn't went well. but, the experience made me really happy with a lot of learning :p liike.. knowing that the stars in the Philippine Flag symbolizes Luzon, Mindanao and Panay Island and that the capital of Tawi Tawi is no longer Tawi Tawi :o sabi ko nga sa status ko sa facebook -- 'nawindang ang brain cells ko. at nachallenge ang natitirang elementary stock knowledge ko' :)) then a dinner full of plans for the summer vacation which i really really hope to push thro...