Skip to main content

Passing the Proud to Be an OB ICC badge :)

Four weeks has passed since we finished with Pedia and started with OB. I won't deny that the four weeks were looong weeks of looong days that sometimes I just want to make it through the day and get over it. 

The days of an OB ICC start early, well relatively early especially if you are used to going to classes at 8 am and sometimes even later. The day welcomes you with endorsements from the previous obstetricians on duty (OOD) to the next in duty in front of everyone, residents, fellows, students and even consultants at times. The chief resident would ask questions about the case, the management and the theoretical stuff as well. Being the misunderstood bibo kids that we are, we were the favorites for this month (and sorry to future OB ICCs if that kind of legacy lives on:p). but the summary rounds made me learn a lot. Unfortunately, i think I learned more in OB than I did in pedia.

 After the 30 minutes, we either go to small group discussions or preceptorials with the intimidating but very high yield learning consultants, to lectures which are all very easy to understand as well. Aside from consultant based learnings, we are also given the opportunity to rotate to different specialty clinics or to our duty posts. We can either post in the OB-OPD, Gyne-OPD, OB Admitting Section or the LR/DR. I personally like the OB-OPD post because we are given the liberty to act like doctors, yes even up to the management. I think we lacked experience in the OBAS or maybe our group is so much of benign magnets that nothing that toxic happens when we are in duty, which I dont know if it is a good or a bad thing. 

We finish everything at 4 pm and sometimes even earlier, especially in the OPD. and then I go home and start 'studying' for the next day and sleep early because the next day starts with another battle, and we can't be absent if we don't want to take the final exams. 

We were also given the chance for a 24 hour turned almost 36 hours duty because of the code black. :| and in this LR/DR duty, I was given the chance to almost deliver a baby, more of assisted and delivered a placenta :) The baby is slimy and slippery and wet and I enjoyed the delivery of the placenta. haha. I have no picture with my first 'catch' but i will never forget that feeling :p  

And now, it's time to pass our badge and pay what we have experienced forward to the next block of OB ICCs :) 

I will definitely miss OB. In fact, I am missing it right now for tonight I have no fear of sleeping in, of being late, and irrational as it may seem, I do miss those feelings. heeeee. 

Loving OB was not as easy as loving pedia, that's true. or atleast for my case. Pedia is my first love, no doubt about that. Those kids make me love what I do and make me enjoy it. I only felt tired once, during the 12 hour ER duty, which is actually understandable. 

OB was a different story, I grew tired easily, I always have that fear in me which makes me grow tired again and again. but I eventually fell in love with OB. and we were almost through with it. But I guess it was the kind of love that no matter how short the time left is to enjoy, I allowed myself to love it and I made the right choice ;)

As for the specialization I want in the future, Pedia is definitely my first choice (as of ever since). I was in search of the second choice, and for years I can't think of anything. Now i do think, I have my second choice. :p but im not closing any doors, besides, I'm three years away from that two letters after my name and being able to decide the path i would want to take. A looot more will happen :)

And tomorrow, our block's IM journey begins :)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

and things will start to change..

to start it all: my hair! haha. it's short now. like kindergarten short. haha. i like it. and i wanted to have my hair cut since summer, but because of grad pictorials, i need to postpone it. and grad pictorials are done - and i don't want to postpone it any longer. haha. so i had my hair cut yesterday afternoon after watching the Agnes of God play with my brother. (i have no decent pictures yet so you need to see me personally if you want to see it. i feel weird. i think it looks weird. haha.) and so everything follows. *** change is something inevitable. a natural phenomenon that would definitely happen in one way or another. we can't stop it (i think) but we can postpone it and i think i've postponed "that" inevitable change for too long now, and I have no other choice but to let it happen. i've already felt the urge to remove that something from my system at the start of the sem (as the change im talking about). well, i knew i need to deal wi...

The Preparation.

How do you put 100 days of preparation, 4 days of examination and 3 days of waiting in one blog entry? You can’t. Haha. So I’m making this a 3 part entry. That very long hiatus from writing and this heart full of emotions had led me craving to write my heart out. So indulge me. I don’t think I would be able to encapsulate all the emotions in that one of a kind journey which led me to where I am today. But I would still try because having that experience is something that I would love to look back to (definitely not do again) but something that I would like to read about when I feel like strolling down my memory lane. It started the day after the review center (Topnotch medical board prep) orientation where we were welcomed with a wake-up call, the board examination is about three months away - 106 days to be exact. Will it be enough? Probably. And then came the diagnostic exams where in there was really the doubt of whether it will be enough.  Parang hindi . But it was...

Page 2: lungs and the Pinas :)

today was our first day in our pulmonary module. well i was asleep half the first lecture, but i did well in listening in the afternoon session :) and then there was free time, which i gladly spent updating myself with the latest episodes of the vampire diaries and once upon a time :p which i'd gladly write something about as well sometime :p and another exciting thing today, i had a spur of the moment let's join the quiz bee with my friends! the quiz bee was all about stuff about the Philippines. it didn't went well. but, the experience made me really happy with a lot of learning :p liike.. knowing that the stars in the Philippine Flag symbolizes Luzon, Mindanao and Panay Island and that the capital of Tawi Tawi is no longer Tawi Tawi :o sabi ko nga sa status ko sa facebook -- 'nawindang ang brain cells ko. at nachallenge ang natitirang elementary stock knowledge ko' :)) then a dinner full of plans for the summer vacation which i really really hope to push thro...